Nectarine – TB

1 Aug

It was a bright cold day in January

And the clocks were striking thirteen.

At the Western Front, the crowds, they gathered,

To swear in a nectarine.

The nectarine was neither sour or sweet.

In fact, he could be either.

The nectarine said he ruled the market place

Though old kapustniki was his leader.

In his speech under an orange sunshine

He stood and talked a lot.

He talked until yellow moonshine

He talked about what not.

“I am really rich,

Get on great with the blacks

Thank you Harold Hamm, Dana White, Robert Kraft.

Thank you America.

I never said I had your back, only mine.”

7 Responses to “Nectarine – TB”

  1. Rosemary Nissen-Wade August 2, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

    A nice little piece of satire!

  2. Jim August 2, 2016 at 3:27 pm #

    Lots of “I’s” here, seems I’ve heard this man, old kapustniki, get himself into trouble.
    Love it!! BTW, my ‘troubled man’ today’s photo is a crawfish.
    ..

  3. p.s. August 2, 2016 at 6:21 pm #

    I enjoyed this. 🙂

  4. ManicDdaily August 3, 2016 at 11:09 am #

    Agh! Very cleverly done. Can’t stand that nectarine. K.

  5. Kerry O'Connor August 3, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

    I like the way you used allusions to well-known dystopian literature in these lines, though I fear I may have missed the gist at the end.

  6. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) August 4, 2016 at 4:13 am #

    Yes, so clever. It is satire at its best.

  7. Marian August 4, 2016 at 1:51 pm #

    Oh good lord let’s hope not.

Leave a Reply

