Misery in a puddle – TB

13 Apr

The scratching of my biro,
Frantically trying to get it to work,
Mingled with the sound of raindrops,
Dribbling through the stillness of the day,
Made a storm, waited for another to appear.
The sky rumbled and I studied my misery in a puddle.
I could have written.  I didn’t.   I was scared to think.
I had all of the day to think.
I sat through the downpour.
I could have written.
I didn’t.
I was scared what would come out.

8 Responses to “Misery in a puddle – TB”

  1. Kerry O'Connor November 3, 2015 at 2:58 pm #

    I could have written. I didn’t. I was scared to think.

    This line sums it up very well indeed.

  2. writersdream9 November 3, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

    A writer’s angst!

  3. anmol(alias HA) November 3, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

    Ah. Scared of what would come out… Understandable, since some things are better left unexposed and unknown.
    Well-penned. 🙂
    -HA

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) November 3, 2015 at 8:56 pm #

    The way a biro clots,
    I wonder
    is it ink or blood?

    I think we can be petrified for our thoughts.

  5. Sherry Marr November 3, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

    “I studied my misery in a puddle” and not writing because one is scared what will come out…how these words resonate. Sometimes, we are astounded by the truth that comes out, not having known we consciously knew the truth we have written……….I definitely relate to this poem!

  6. ellaedge November 4, 2015 at 1:13 am #

    Oh, the blur of gray and fear elevated in this poem~ I can so relate to your confessional offering~ You are not alone~

  7. Isadora Gruye November 4, 2015 at 2:44 am #

    I really enjoyed the simplicity of the lines, “Made a storm, waited for another”….this poem is well plotted and plodded. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

