The myth of the fall – TB

17 Dec

We were gathered around the TV,
Celebrating the fall of the Berlin Wall.
I was seven years old.
The war was over, I was told.
I didn’t, and couldn’t, take it in.
I didn’t know, or understand, what it meant.
But what actually fell?
It wasn’t the hinges on the gates of hell. 
And as for the Iron Curtains,
One had come down but one remained.
And so 20 or so years on,
We still pick up our papers and read
About something that never really went away,
About the fussing and fighting in Ukraine. 
People are still trying to understand
The whys and what fors in this foreign land
That we’ve stayed ignorant about
For far too many years…

7 Responses to “The myth of the fall – TB”

  1. wolfsrosebud December 17, 2014 at 10:45 pm #

    i was talking to someone who was there around the time it came down… there was great joy… too bad now there are other problems

  2. Hannah Gosselin December 17, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    Well said…I think you’re right that some conflicts never do really end…they just shift.

  3. Kenia Santos December 18, 2014 at 12:00 am #

    How do you remember these things? Have you always been into politics? I remember watching the fall of the wall on TV, but I’m not sure if it’s from when I was little, because the scene is the same they show every year on the anniversary of the fall.

    I like this poem TB, I like it when you write about your past and about global order, your poetry is smart. What else do you remember from when you were seven? I would like to hear about that.

    Kiss. ❤

  4. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) December 18, 2014 at 4:53 am #

    I watched the wall fall and for a moment I believed the world would cease its wars. It is hard at times to survive on maybe.

  5. margaret December 18, 2014 at 5:25 am #

    “The war is over”. If only…. I liked the very intimate feel of this poem.

  6. Kerry O'Connor December 18, 2014 at 6:43 am #

    And so 20 or so years on,
    We still pick up our papers and read
    About something that never really went away…

    This says a whole lot to me. Every seeming step in the right direction leads right back to where it all started – just change the uniforms, the weapons, the mad leaders and continue the fight.

  7. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) December 18, 2014 at 9:47 am #

    Indeed.. yes living on the borders.. there where things I never understood… peace will always cost, but war cost more.

Leave a Reply

