Nobody’s side – TB

14 May

What’s the alternative?
To whom can I lend my support?
What if they vote Conservative?
Do they do so as a last resort?
So if I don’t vote, am I neglecting my duty?
And then if I do, is it blood on my hands?
I just believe in peace, tranquility and beauty,
Is that a crime? Will I get written out of the plans?
Is politics just a game of idle chatter?
Could it be another form of small-talk?
Can you forever count me out of this wasteful matter?
I’m not getting involved in another war.

4 Responses to “Nobody’s side – TB”

  1. georgeplace2013 June 16, 2014 at 10:30 am #

    Valid questions… not easily answered. I’m afraid the older I get the more cynical I am about politicians. Like you, I wonder if any of the words are genuine and, I too, am sick of war. Nice thoughtful, timely piece here.

  2. Sherry Blue Sky June 16, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

    I so understand the feelings in this poem. One gets discouraged. But we must use our voting voice.

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) June 16, 2014 at 7:26 pm #

    Oh — yes I’m starting to feel this unpleasantness of having to chose of two bad things…important questions you put

  4. grapeling June 19, 2014 at 5:43 am #

    bleeping war. ~

Leave a Reply

