Down the sofa – TB

8 May

Disappear,
I’d like to,
Like something
Down the sofa.
And I’d be hidden
Not lost
Up until
The time
A hand
Would reach down
And look for
odd coins
And used handkerchiefs.
The hand
Would find
Twenty pence pieces
And old bubble wrap
Old photos of childhood
That I’d spent time
Looking at myself.
Half a packet of polos,
Which I’d used to survive,
Grinding down each one
To dust then I’d swallow.
Receipts of joyless
Things I’d bought.
20 pounds, 10 pounds and 50,
Names of items that mean nothing
Anymore.
And then the hand would
Reach down one further time
And Grasp mine.

2 Responses to “Down the sofa – TB”

  1. Sherry Marr June 2, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    Oh, I love that hand grasping yours at the end……….cool idea, being lost among the couch cushions…..I could enjoy that!!

  2. Kathryn Dyche Dechairo June 3, 2014 at 1:13 am #

    Love that ending too, the hand grasping yours.

Leave a Reply

