Sparrow and the butterfly – TB

25 Apr

The sparrow saw the butterfly
And was amazed how it flew.
“Teach me to fly”, he said,
“I want to fly like you”.
“There’s nothing to it”, said the butterfly
“I simply flutter my wings like shoo woo
And the wind carries me away.”
Oh how beautifully delightful thought the sparrow,
“Please Mr Butterfly, teach me to sway.”
“It’s a deal, Mr Sparrow, as long as you teach me to crow.”
“But I’m not a crow, Mr Butterfly, I tweet like a sparrow.”
So teach me to tweet like a sparrow, Mr Sparrow, will you?”
“You have no voice, Mr Butterfly.”
“So what, Mr Sparrow, you do the tweeting and I’ll do the dancing for you.”

5 Responses to “Sparrow and the butterfly – TB”

  1. vandana April 28, 2014 at 10:35 am #

    Such a cute poem, we all have our talents that can be brought further with hard work:)

  2. CC Champagne April 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm #

    So sweet, but with a serious core… Very enjoyable read! Well done!

  3. Sherry Blue Sky April 28, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

    That sounds like the perfect arrangement!

  4. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) April 28, 2014 at 10:29 pm #

    Love it!!!

  5. Dick Jones April 30, 2014 at 7:27 am #

    This is a delightful faux parable, concise but – as must all resonant parables – packaging its message with precision.

Leave a Reply

