Out there amongst it

21 Feb

Walking around the centre of Kyiv, tonight, was very surreal. My mind was filled with paranoia – what if, what if…what if a sniper’s eyes are following me? After such a day of butchery, I only had negative thoughts circulating through my brain. What helped me was helping out, sorting through clothes, tidying up, eating chicken soup (couldn’t let it go to waste ;)) and trying to stay safe for the ones that love me. What impresses me the most, is the human spirit. People pull together under such circumstances.

3 Responses to “Out there amongst it”

  1. Kenia Cris February 21, 2014 at 4:42 am #

    I extend my good thoughts to all the people fighting on the streets of Kiev right now, even the policemen and even the Titushki because they are family for someone somewhere. There’s someobdy praying they can make it home safely. I read that a 21-year-old policeman said after being released that ‘doesn’t want to pick sides anymore’, he wants to live a normal life. People’s dreams are nice and simple.

    Watching the news about Kiev today, I was reminded of the scene in Inglourious Basterds with Hitler watching his soldiers kill the Jewish people in the old cinema, right before being killed by I clearly remember his laughter.

    I wonder if Yanukovych doesn’t have something of that laughter…

    Stay strong and safe. ❤

  2. crayfish February 21, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    The freedom to live a simple life is what we all strive after.

  3. Kenia Cris February 21, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

    I hate myself when I come back to read your replies and discover I’ve made so many mistakes in my text.

    Yes! I agree with you, all of us, mankind.

Leave a Reply

