When the dust settles – TB

19 Feb

Doubt is shared
As to what we can do.
Their shields are Human,
Our swords are cardboard.
They’re protecting the people,
With fear.
I’ll close my eyes and
Count to 10,
There’s a chance they may leave.
They’ll probably climb even higher, though.
How did the crestfallen climb so high?
The higher they climb,
The higher they’ll climb
And they’ll strain their necks
Looking down on us.
Our stones will never be a match
For their bullets and their bombs.
Light a match and Molotov
And only hope that it lands.
Fragile is the resistance,
Ever-present the oppressors.
When the dust settles,
Who’ll be left holding the brush?

5 Responses to “When the dust settles – TB”

  1. Kenia Cris February 20, 2014 at 4:13 am #

    This is serious work on the words I gave you, I swear I thought you’d post the one about the moustache (which would have been fine with me because I really liked that thing).

    I repeat myself when I say I appreciate your political poems, they are filled with your ideas on justice and power and freedom and it’s beautiful to see how these ideas are discussed in your poems. Again, I wish more people could come and read between the lines and understand how you feel about what’s happening around you. .

    Take care.

    Kisses.

  2. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) February 20, 2014 at 5:00 am #

    Oh my have you spoken so concisely of the world we live in…that ending sends chills

  3. gabriella8 February 20, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    Fragile is the resistance. But we must continue to pick up the stones.

  4. humbird February 21, 2014 at 12:43 am #

    ‘I’ll close my eyes and
    Count to 10,
    There’s a chance they may leave.’ ~ really it’s hard to believe we witness such a dismal time…~ Brave thought provoking poem…

  5. grapeling February 21, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

    you convey well that mix of despair and fatalism that remains when hope is crushed ~

Leave a Reply

